School Logo

Howitt Primary Community School

Achieve, Care, Enjoy

Our Governors

Please find below details of how our Governing Board is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each governor.


The Governing Board is made up of elected members of the community, these are voted in by the Governing Board. Parent governors are nominated and votes are taken from parents.


All governors, along with the headteacher, are responsible for the management of the school. In executing its responsibility the Governing Board meets regularly in order to address such issues as employment of staff, the school building, financial management, curriculum and assessment, behaviour and discipline. Each year the Governing Board completes an Annual Statement that outlines the work of the governors and the development of the school. We also complete a termly update for parents (see links below).

Minutes of the full Board of Governors and committee meetings are public documents. If you would like to see any of the minutes, please ask at the school office.


Dates of future board and committee meetings are available on our school calendar, published here.


How you can contact the governing board


We always welcome suggestions, feedback and ideas from parents and carers.


Any enquiries for the Governing Board should be addressed to:

Mrs Carolyn Wood, Co-Chair of Governors or Mrs Jane Bowley, Co-Chair of Governors, Howitt Primary Community School, Holmes Street, Heanor, Derbyshire DE75 7FS.